Modify project settings

Desktop

Modify project settings

You can define project-level settings separately from the general settings.

Note:

You can make changes to project settings in both Trimble Connect for Windows and Trimble Connect for Browser. If you make conflicting changes to the project settings, the latest changes override the previously made changes.

  • To open the Settings dialog box, click the Settings button in the upper-right corner of the Trimble Connect for Windows window.

  1. Predefined unit sets. You can define unit settings for your project by using predefined unit sets or custom sets.

  2. Settings for distance, area, volume and weight. These are used in the Objects list in the Trimble Connect for Windows object property pane.

  3. The unit setting for distance also determines the unit that is used when you move models.

    You can also set the precision of how accurately the units are displayed.

  4. Unit setting for measurement is used in measuring distances in the models.

To Do this
Set units for a project
  1. Click the Settings button in the upper-right of the workspace.
  2. On the Project tab, do one of the following:
    • Select a predefined unit set in the Unit System list.
    • Select the units and precision as required.

      You can select the units separately for distance measurement and other functions, such as how detailed object information is displayed in the Objects list's property pane.

  3. Click the Close button.
Set units for measuring distances
  1. Click the Settings button in the upper-right of the workspace.
  2. On the Project tab, in the Measurements section, select the unit and precision as required.
  3. Click the Close button.
Set the graphics options
  1. Click the Settings button in the upper-right of the workspace.
  2. On the Graphics tab, you can select if:
    • Edge lines are in use.

    • SSAO (Screen Space Ambient Occlusion) is enabled.

    • FXAA (Fast Approximating Anti-Aliasing) is enabled.

    • Depth peeling is enabled.

      Enabling Depth peeling improves the quality of transparency but may affect the performance of Trimble Connect.

    • Camera animation time can be adjusted.

      The Camera animation time setting affects the pace of automated camera changes, such as zooming and view loading. By default, Camera animation time is set to 1000.

    • Camera animation quality can be changed.

      The Camera animation quality setting controls the render quality of the camera. Decreasing the render quality may improve the performance of Trimble Connect. By default, Camera animation quality is set to High.

Set the user interface controls size

You can show some user interface controls in the larger size. This is useful when you use Trimble Connect with a tablet.

  1. Click the Settings button in the upper-right of the workspace.
  2. On the General tab, set the size of user interface controls as required.
    • To show user interface controls in the larger size, select Tablet.
    • To show user interface controls in the smaller size, select Normal.
Hide the navigation control buttons

The navigation control buttons are shown by default. You can hide the navigation control buttons if you do not need them.

  1. Click the Settings button in the upper-right of the workspace.
  2. On the General tab, clear the Show Navigation Control Buttons check box.

    When the navigation control buttons are hidden, the navigation mode that was last used is active.

Disable highlighting of objects in the 3D view

When you move the pointer over an object in the 3D view, the object is highlighted by default. If needed, you can you can disable the object highlighting. This may also enhance the performance of your models.

  1. Click the Settings button in the upper-right of the workspace.
  2. On the General tab, clear the Enable highlighting of objects in model check box.

When you are using area selection, the objects belonging to the selection are highlighted even though object highlighting is disabled.

Tip:

When highlighting of objects is disabled, you can temporarily highlight objects by holding down the Ctrl key.

Set the language of the user interface

Select the language of the user interface in the list.

When you change the language, a restart is required. The selected language is taken into use after the restart.

Set the default server location

Select the default server location for new Trimble Connect projects.