Work with Trimble Connect Sync

Desktop

Work with Trimble Connect Sync

Trimble Connect Sync is an application that keeps your files synchronized with multiple projects on Trimble Connect. You can select individual folders, synchronize to and from Trimble Connect and choose which direction the files should synchronize.

Download Trimble Connect Sync

The Trimble Connect Sync tool can be downloaded at the Trimble Connect app store.

Sign in to Trimble Connect Sync

Trimble Connect Sync tool uses the same login credentials as Trimble Connect.

  • Use your Trimble Identity email and password to sign in to Trimble Connect Sync.

Synchronize projects manually

  1. On the Projects tab of Trimble Connect Sync, select the project server location.

  2. Find the project you want to synchronize.
  3. Click the Sync button on the right of the project.

Your project is synchronized.

If you want to synchronize all of your projects, click the Sync all projects button.

Create a synchronization schedule

Every project has a default synchronization schedule, and every project must have one at least one synchronization schedule.

  1. On the main screen of Trimble Connect Sync, find the project you want to synchronize.
  2. Click the Advanced button on the right of the project.
  3. Click Add Sync Shedule.

You can delete the schedule by clicking Delete on the right side of the schedule.

Modify a synchronization schedule

Change the synchronization direction, time, and location

  1. Click Edit on the right side of the schedule.

  2. On the Details page, select the Sync direction.

    Option

    Description

    Bi-directional

    Syncs data from both the server and your local computer.

    Upload Only

    Syncs data from your local computer to the server.

    Download Only

    Syncs data from the server to your local computer.

    Local transfer

    Syncs all the changes on your local computer to the server.

  3. Select the frequency of synchronization from the When list.

    After selecting the frequency, you can define the time and day of the synchronization.

  4. Select to which folder the files are synchronized from the Project location.

  5. Change the server path where the project data is synchronized by clicking the Change server path button, selecting a new folder, and clicking Set Sync Root.

  6. Click Done.

Select the project files and folders included in the synchronization

  1. Click Edit on the right of the schedule.

  2. On the Folders page, select the folders and files to the synchronization:

    • To select all project folders and files, select the check box at the top of the left side.

    • To select all files and folders on the local computer, select the check box below the computer .

    • To select all the files and folders in the server, select the check box below the cloud .

  3. Click Done.

Exclude file types from the synchronization

  1. Click the Edit button on the right of the schedule.

  2. On the Filters page, add a filter to exclude file types in the synchronization.

  3. Enter the Filter Description and the File Extension.

  4. Click Add New Filter.

  5. Click Done.

Set alerts and conflict resolution settings for the synchronization

  1. Click Edit on the right of the schedule.

  2. On the Alerts page, select the notification situations.

    Option

    Description

    Notify on Sync conflict

    Notifies about the details of a synchronization conflict.

    Notify on Sync error

    Notifies about a synchronization error, such as a connectivity issue.

    Notify on Sync completion

    Notifies about successful synchronization.

  3. Enter the emails for other users who need to be notified in the Additional emails to notify box.

    Note:

    You can enter multiple email addresses. Use semicolon (;) or comma (,) as a separator.

  4. Select the conflict resolution:

    • Skip files to manually resolve the conflict

    • Files on my computer override Trimble Connect

    • Files on Trimble Connect override my computer

  5. Click Done.

Set general settings for synchronizations

  1. Click the Preferences button in the upper-right corner of the main screen.
  2. On the Filters tab, add a filter to exclude file types for all project synchronizations.

    If the settings in individual project conflict with the general settings, the project settings take precedence.

  3. On the Alerts tab, select notification and conflict resolution settings for all project synchronizations.

    If the settings in individual project conflict with the general settings, the project settings take precedence.

  4. On the Proxy tab, set up a proxy server.
  5. On the Sync tab, select the Number of parallel Uploads/Downloads.
  6. On the Sync tab, select whether the Sync preview is shown when the synchronization starts.
  7. Click Done.

Solve Trimble Connect Sync tool conflicts

A conflict occurs when a new version of an existing file exists locally and another version of the same file exists in Trimble Connect.

The sync tool does not know which one of the files is the most current, and you need to determine which file to upload or download. You can either resolve conflicts manually, or set a rule in which you always override the file inTrimble Connect (upload) or always override the file that exists locally (download).

Change the conflict resolution rules in Trimble Connect Sync tool by going to Preferences > Alerts.

There are three rules of synchronization conflict resolution on the Alerts page:

  • Skip files to manually resolve conflict

  • Files on my computer override Trimble Connect

  • Files on Trimble Connect override my computer