Save and manage model views

Desktop

Save and manage model views

You can save model views, or snapshots of the 3D model view, and manage them in several ways using the Views list. For example, you can create a slide show based on the existing model views, save model views on your computer as images, and set a model view as the project thumbnail.

Parent topic: Work with 3D models

Save a model view

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. Adjust the 3D model view to meet your needs.

    For more information, see Adjust the 3D model view and Navigate 3D models.

  3. On the right side of the Views list, click + Add view.

    The current 3D model view is saved and added to the Views list.

  4. In the box below the view, type a name for the view.

Filter and search for model views

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. In the Views list, do any of the following:

    To

    Do this

    Show only views added by you

    • In the list on the left side of the Views list, select Own views.

    Show only views that have been shared to you

    • In the list on the left side of the Views list, select Shared with me.

    Search for a view

    • In the Search box on the right side of the Views list, type a view name or a part of it.

Play the saved model views as a slide show

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. In the Views list, select the saved view from which you want to start the slide show.
  3. Click .

All of the saved views are shown as a slide show.

Share a model view

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. In the Views list, right-click the view that you want to share with other users.
  3. Select Share...
  4. In the Select users and groups dialog box, find and select the user groups or users with whom you want to share the view.
  5. Click Save.

The users and user groups that you selected can now see the view that you shared.

Update a model view

Note that updating a saved model view replaces the originally saved view with the current view.

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. In the Views list, right-click the view that you want to replace.
  3. Select Update.

Set a model view as the project thumbnail image

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. In the Views list, right-click the view that you want to use as the project thumbnail image.
  3. Select Set as project image.

The saved view is now set as the thumbnail image of the project. For example, you can see the thumbnail image on the start page of Trimble Connect for Windows.

Revert a saved model view to use original model versions

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. In the Views list, right-click the view that you revert.
  3. Select Load with original model versions.

The saved view is reverted to use the original model versions.

Save a model view as an image

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. In the Views list, select the view that you want to export as an image.
  3. Click Export current 3D view as image.
  4. In the Save view as image dialog box, type a name for the image.
  5. In the Save as type list, select the file format.

    You can also change the file type by typing another image file extension to the File name box.

  6. Click Save.

Delete a model view

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. In the Views list, right-click the view that you want to remove.
  3. Select Remove.
  4. Click Yes to confirm.

The view is deleted from all users in the project.