Trimble Connect Desktop 1.8 Release Notes
"Enable highlighting of objects in model" setting is now disabled by default to improve performance when working with very large model files. This change applies automatically only for new installations. When updating an existing installation, the application will continue to remember the previous setting value stored in the system registry. If you work with very large models and would like to improve performance, it may be worthwhile to turn off the highlight setting.
When highlighting is disabled, hover over an object is not highlighting anymore and also highlights for markups and grids are disabled.
If Ctrl key is pressed while hovering, the highlight will be enabled on the fly as long as the Ctrl key remains pressed. As soon as the button is released, the highlight will return to disabled state.
Clashsets list would show the clashset even if no related models are loaded. If individual clash item is opened in that list, then the models would be (downloaded and) loaded. (Before this improvement Clashsets list was shown if at least one model in the clashset is loaded in 3D view).
New feature - Sequence:
This feature gives users a walk through of the steps involved in the construction of a model from scratch in a specified order. The purpose of this is for verification and construction of large models, created from several smaller models, over time. This feature is supported only in Online mode.
1. Create Sequence
- Users will be able to load one or more models and create a sequence
- There can be multiple steps within a sequence, and each step can have multiple objects
- Instructions can be added to each step
- “Metadata.mrdb” file gets created in the project root folder once the sequence is saved. This file is necessary for the sequencing feature to work as expected. Users are expected not to explicitly work with this file.
2. Edit Sequence
- The existing sequence can be edited and updated
- New steps can be added, existing steps can be updated or removed
3. Remove Sequence
- A sequence can be Removed by selecting the “Remove” option
4. Share Sequence
- A sequence can be “shared” with multiple users in the project
5. Play sequence
- User can play the sequence and verify each of the steps within the sequence
- Instructions that belong to the step played is shown below the step
6. Accessibility of Model and Objects Windows
- Users can work with Sequence window and Model or Object Windows simultaneously. To achieve this, the sequence window is expected to be unpinned
General details on sequence:
A sequence can have multiple steps
Each step can have multiple objects
An object can belong to only one step at any point in time
Objects that belong to the selected step are shown in the “transparent state”
Objects that belong to the non-selected step are shown in a “hidden state”
Objects that are not part of any step are shown in the “visible state”
Empty steps without any objects are discarded when the sequence is saved
When a new step is added to an existing sequence, the user is expected to explicitly share the sequence again with the assignees.
It is advised to perform project sync before working with a sequence so that the latest changes to the sequence are updated locally.
Fixes and other improvements
- Fixed an issue where the models are automatically loaded to 3D
- Fixed an issue where user could delete an object link created by another user
- Fixed an issue which caused application to crash when trying to rename a file with an existing filename
- Fixed an issue where last 3D view was not saved correctly in certain cases.
- Fixed issue where latest model version was not loaded correctly in all cases