Group objects with Trimble Connect Organizer

Web

Group objects with Trimble Connect Organizer

You can use Trimble Connect Organizer to group objects together according to your needs. For example, you can create groups by floors, sections, phases, object types, or cost units.

Note:

Only users with the Trimble Connect Business Premium license can use Trimble Connect Organizer.

  • To open Trimble Connect Organizer, click Organizer on the side pane in the 3D viewer.

Note that other applications can read Organizer groups from and write Organizer groups to the Trimble Connect Connect project using the API integration. For more information, see Trimble Connect Organizer API.

Create groups and sub-groups

All users in the project can see the groups that you create. Only the users that belong to the same company as you can add or delete subgroups, or link or unlink objects to a group.

  1. Click Add new group.

    A new group appears at the bottom of the Organizer side pane.

  2. Click the new group and type a name for the group.
  3. To add subgroups for the new group, click Add subgroup.

    You can create subgroups also under other subgroups.

  4. To link objects into a group:
    1. Select the group to which you want to link objects.
    2. Select the objects that you want to link to the group.

      Note that if Assembly selection mode is active, assemblies are linked groups instead of objects.

      You can select the objects either with the 3D selection tools or with the Select in 3D option in Content Browser. You can also create groups with the Save to Organizer command in Content Browser.

    3. Under the group in the Organizer side pane, click Link objects.

Repeat steps 1 to 4 until you have created all necessary groups and added the right items to the groups.

The numbers in parentheses under the group name indicate how many objects have been linked to the group and its subgroups. The first number is the total number of linked objects in the group. The second number is the total number of linked objects in the group's subgroups.

Sort groups

  1. In the Organizer side pane, click Sort.
  2. Select the sorting criterion:
    • Date created

    • Date modified

    • Name

The groups are sorted in a descending order based on the selected criterion.

Modify groups

  1. In the Organizer side pane, select the group that you want to modify.
  2. Do any of the following:

    To

    Do this

    View the group properties

    • Under the group in the Organizer side pane, click Open properties panel.

    The properties panel opens on the right side of the 3D viewer. For more information, see Create and manage property sets.

    Unlink objects from the group

    1. Select the objects that you want to add to the group.

      You can select the objects either with the 3D selection tools or with the Select in 3D in Content Browser.

    2. Under the group in the Organizer side pane, click Unlink objects.

    Delete the group
    • Under the group in the Organizer side pane, click Delete.

    • To confirm deleting the group, click Delete in the confirmation dialog box.

Highlight objects in multiple groups

You can highlight the items that belong to multiple groups by selecting the groups.

  1. Hold down the Ctrl or Command key.
  2. In the Organizer side pane, select the groups whose intersections you want to see.

    For example, select Footings and Section A.

Only the objects that are in both groups are shown in the 3D viewer. In this example, only footings in section A of the building would be highlighted.

Manage access to groups

  1. At the top of the Organizer side pane, click More.
  2. Select Manage access control.

    Access Control Manager for Trimble Connect Organizer opens in a new tab.

  3. In Access Control Manager, do any of the following:
    To Do this

    Set access rights for a new group

    1. Click Add access control for another group.

    2. Start typing the name of the user group in the Add a group box.

    3. Click the user group to select it.

      If you want to set the same access level for more than one user group, repeat steps b to c.

    4. In the access list, select the access level for the user groups.

      The options are:
      • Inherited settings: The default access is used for the group.

        Edit access: The users can edit the group and add subgroups in the 3D Viewer.

      • Read only access: The users can only see the groups, but they cannot edit the groups.

      • No access: The group is hidden from the users in the 3D Viewer.

    5. Click Apply.

    Change the access rights of an existing group

    1. In the table in Access Control Manager, click the icon in the group column.

    2. In the list that opens, select a new access level for the group.

      The options are:
      • Inherited settings: The default access is used for the group.

        Edit access: The users can edit the group and add subgroups in the 3D Viewer.

      • Read only access: The users can only see the groups, but they cannot edit the groups.

      • No access: The group is hidden from the users in the 3D Viewer.

    Change the default access rights for all project members

    All users who do not belong to any user group, or are members of a group for which access level has not been set, get their access rights on the Default access row.

    1. In the table in Access Control Manager, find the Default access row.

    2. Click the icon in the Library Access column.

    3. In the list that opens, select a new access level.

Show or hide locations

If you have shared models with location-based element geometries and quantities in Trimble Connect, you can show the locations, or bounding boxes, in the 3D viewer.

To show or hide locations, click LBS in front of the group name in the Organizer side pane.