Change project settings

Web

Change project settings

Project administrators can adjust project settings to set project preferences. You can access the project settings on the Settings page in Trimble Connect for Browser.

Project Details

Control the project details.

On the Settings page, go to the Project Details.

Add or change
  • Image

  • Project Ownership

  • Project Billing Account

  • Description

  • Start date and End date

Note:

If you change Project ownership, the existing metadata for custom attributes is lost.

Notifications

Email notifications allow you to receive project updates via email.

The administrator can let others modify their own email notification settings. Notifications can be generated for every activity, such as a file being uploaded, downloaded or updated.

  1. On the Settings page, go to the Notifications.
  2. Project Administrators: on top of the page, select whether users can modify their own settings.
  3. Click the menu for each category to display all activities within that category.

    Each activity has the option to have the notification sent instantly or in a daily digest.

  4. From the bottom of the page, select the daily digest time and your timezone.
  5. Click Save.

Units

Set the standard units used throuhgout the project.

  1. On the Settings page, go to the Units.
  2. Select the Unit system:
    • Imperial

    • Metric

    • Custom

      Custom allows you to combine units from both Imperial and Metric systems.

  3. Select the display precision for each unit.
  4. Click Save.

User permissions

Define the privacy settings of the project.

Change ToDo visibility

  1. On the Settings page, go to the User permissions.

  2. Select whether ToDo visibility is shared or restricted.

    Shared: ToDos are visible to everyone in the project.

    Restricted: ToDos are visible to project administrators, ToDo creators and ToDo assignees.

  3. Click Save.

Set project member invitations

  1. On the Settings page, go to the User permissions.

  2. Select whether all users can invite new members or only project administrators.

  3. Click Save.

Sync

Define the sync settings.

Sync mode

Establish change control standards.

  1. On the Settings page, go to the Sync.

  2. Select from the following options:

    Option

    Description

    Enable automatic file checkout when uploading a file

    When you sync the project, you can download the file with read/write access. You can update the file locally and sync it to the server. While the sync is in progress, the files are checked out.

    When the sync is complete, the files are checked in. Other users can edit and update the file locally and on the server.

    Require file checkout before being able to upload files

    When you sync the project, you can download the file with read/write access. You cannot update the file on the server until you have checked out the file. After you have finished working with the file, you can sync the file back to the server.

    Require file checkout before being able to upload files, and set non-checked out file as read-only

    When you sync the project, you can download the file in read only mode.

    If you want to update the file first, you need to check out the file, update the file locally, and sync the project. This updates the file on the server.

  3. Click Save.

Exclude Files and Folders

You can set filters to ignore certain file types during the sync. For instance, you can select to ignore temporary files that some software generates.

  1. On the Settings page, go to the Sync.

  2. From the list select the file types you want to ignore during the sync.

  3. Click Save.