Synchronize project files with Trimble Connect Sync

Web

Synchronize project files with Trimble Connect Sync

Trimble Connect Sync is an application that keeps your files synchronized with multiple projects on Trimble Connect. You can select individual folders, synchronize to and from Trimble Connect and choose which direction the files should synchronize.

Download Trimble Connect Sync

The Trimble Connect Sync tool can be downloaded at the Trimble Connect app store.

To access the App store in Trimble Connect for Browser, click the App Store icon at the top-right corner.

Log into Trimble Connect Sync

Trimble Connect Sync tool uses the same login credentials as Trimble Connect.

Use your Trimble Identity email and password to log into Trimble Connect Sync.

Synchronize projects manually

  1. On the main screen of Trimble Connect Sync, find the project you want to synchronize.
  2. Click the Sync button on the right of the project.

Your project is automatically synchronized.

If you want to synchronize all of your projects, click the Sync all projects button.

Create a synchronization schedule

Every project has a default synchronization schedule.

Every project must have one at least one synchronization schedule.

  1. On the main screen of Trimble Connect Sync, find the project you want to synchronize.
  2. Click the Advanced button on the right of the project.
  3. Click Add Sync Shedule.

You can delete the schedule by clicking the Delete button on the right of the schedule.

Edit a synchronization schedule

Edit synchronization direction, time, and location

  1. Click the Edit button on the right of the schedule.

  2. On the Details tab, select the Sync direction.

    Option

    Description

    Bi-directional

    Syncs data from both the server and your local computer.

    Upload only

    Syncs data from your local computer to the server.

    Download only

    Syncs data from the server to your local computer.

    Local transfer

    Syncs all the changes on your local computer to the server.

  3. Select the frequency of synchronization from the When list.

    After selecting the frequency, you can define the time and day of the synchronization.

  4. Select to which folder the files are synchronized from the Project location.

  5. Change the server repository where the project data is synchonized by clicking the Change server path button.

  6. Click Done.

Edit the project files and folders included in the synchronization

  1. Click the Edit button on the right of the schedule.

  2. On the Folders tab, select the folders and files to the synchronization.

    You can select all project folders and files by selecting the check box on top of the left side.

    To select all the files and folders in the local computer, select the check box below the computer .

    To select all the files and folders in the server, select the check box below the cloud .

  3. Click Done.

Exclude file types in the synchronization

  1. Click the Edit button on the right of the schedule.

  2. On the Filters tab, add a filter to exclude file types in the synchronization.

  3. Enter the Filter description and the File extension.

  4. Click Add New Filter.

  5. Click Done.

Set alerts and conflict resolution settings for the synchronization

  1. Click the Edit button on the right of the schedule.

  2. On the Alerts tab, select the notification situations.

    Option

    Description

    Notify on Sync conflict

    Notifies about the details of a synchronization conflict.

    Notify on Sync error

    Notifies about a synchronization error, such as a connectivity issue.

    Notify on Sync completion

    Notifies about successful synchronization.

  3. Enter the emails for other users who are notified in the Additional emails to notify box.

    Note:

    You can enter multiple email addresses. Use semicolon (;) or comma (,) as a separator.

  4. Select the conflict resolution:

    • Skip files to manually resolve the conflict

    • Files on my computer override Trimble Connect

    • Files on Trimble Connect override my computer

  5. Click Done.

Set general settings for synchronizations

  1. Click the Preferences button on the top-right corner of the main screen.
  2. On the Filters tab, add a filter to exclude file types for all project synchronizations.

    If the settings in individual project conflict with the general settings, the project settings take precedence.

  3. On the Alerts tab, select notification and conflict resolution settings for all project synchronizations.

    If the settings in individual project conflict with the general settings, the project settings take precedence.

  4. On the Proxy tab, set up a proxy server.
  5. On the Sync tab, select the Number of parallel Uploads/Downloads.
  6. On the Sync tab, select whether the Sync preview is shown when the synchronization starts.
  7. Click Done.