Manage sequences

Windows

Manage sequences

Sequences are walk throughs of the steps that are involved in the construction of 3D models. Creating sequences can be useful for verification and construction of large models that consist of several smaller models.

Note:

Sequences only work when you are working in online mode.

  • To start managing sequences, click Sequence in the side pane.
Parent topic: Work with 3D models

Add a sequence

  1. In the 3D view, select the objects to which the first step applies.

    You can select multiple objects, but note that one object can only belong to one step at a time.

    If you do not select objects for a step, the step will be discarded when you save the sequence.

  2. In the Sequence side pane, click + Add Step.
  3. Type any related text in the Instructions box.

    Repeat steps 1 to 3 to create all necessary steps.

  4. Click Save.

The sequence is saved in a Metadata.mrdb file the project folder. Do not modify this file manually.

This file is necessary for the sequencing feature to work as expected. Users are expected not to explicitly work with this file.

Play a sequence as a slide show

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. In the Views list, select the sequence.
  3. Click Play the saved views as a slide show.

The steps in the sequence start playing as a slide show. The text related to each step are shown below the 3D view.

Note that the slide show will loop until you select to end the slide show.

To end the slide show, click Stop slide show, or press Esc in the keyboard.

Modify a sequence

We recommend that you synchronize the project before you start modifying a sequence, so that the newest changes made to sequences will be available.

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. To rename the sequence, click the box under the sequence thumbnail, erase the current name, and type a new name.
  3. To further modify the sequence, right-click the sequence and select Edit sequence.
  4. Do any of the following:
       

    Add a step

    1. In the 3D view, select the objects to which the new step applies.

      You can select multiple objects, but note that one object can only belong to one step at a time.

      If you do not select objects for a step, the step will be discarded when you save the sequence.

    2. In the Sequence side pane, click + Add Step.

    3. Type any related information in the Instructions box.

    Note that after you add a new step to a sequence, you need to share the sequence again, so that the other users can see the new step.

    Edit a step

    1. In the Sequence side pane, select the step that you want to modify.

      The objects that belong to the selected step are shown as transparent.

    2. To add objects to the step, select the objects in the model view, and click Add Objects in theSequence side pane.

    3. To remove objects from the step, click - on the right side of the objects that you want to remove.

    4. To update the related text, modify the text in the Instructions box.

    Delete a step

    • Click X on the right side of the step that you want to delete.

  5. Click Save.

Share a sequence

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. Right-click the sequence that you want to share.
  3. Select Share...
  4. In the Select users and groups dialog box, select the check boxes next to the users and user groups to whom you want to share the sequence.

    You can filter the listed users or groups by typing a search word in the search box. To remove the filter, click X on the right side of the search word.

  5. To invite new users and add them to the list of users and user groups:
    1. Click .
    2. In the User email list, type the users' email addresses.

      If you are adding multiple users, separate each email address with a comma (,) or a semicolon (;).

    3. If necessary, in the Group list, select a group to which you want to add the users.
    4. In the Role list, select a role for the users.
    5. Click OK.

    The invited users receive an email invitation to the project.

    The users are also added to the list of users and user groups.

  6. To share the sequence, click Save.
The users to whom you shared the receive emails with links to all steps in the shared sequence. They can view the sequence in two ways:
  • By clicking Open view in one of the emails. In this case, the sequence and its views open in the Views pane in Trimble Connect for Browser.

  • By launching Trimble Connect for Windows and opening the Views list.

Delete a sequence

  1. To open the Views list, click Views in the side pane.
  2. Right-click the sequence that you want to delete.
  3. Select Remove.
  4. In the confirmation dialog box, click Remove.

Note that the sequence is also deleted from all the other users to whom the sequence has been shared.